IAPS Chess Report 2018

The 46th IAPS Chess Championship took place this year from the 12th to 13th April at Twickenham Prep School in SW London. Although this was a new venue this year the team of organisers remained the same with David Archer from Aldro School arranging the chess. International Chess Master, Andrew Martin was also in attendance and there was fantastic support as well from David Tuddenham, Sandra Manchester (Aldro), Andrew Costeloe (Highfield) and Julian Franklin from Windlesham House.

There were 127 players this year from 18 IAPS schools competing for both individual and team titles. Nearly 40 chess players competed in the main championship with a high standard of chess on view and there were over 80 boys and girls playing in different age and ability sections. After two days of excellent competition Hallfield School came out on top with a convincing team win in both the U13 and U11 competitions. In the main championship there was an exceptionally close finish with no fewer than four players finishing on 5/6 from four different schools!

Congratulations to all of the winners – names and schools listed below. We hope to run the 47th IAPS chess tournament back here at Twickenham Prep in April 2019 and look forward to welcoming many players, old and new back again.

D. Malam (Twickenham Prep)





IAPS Chess Results 2018.

U13 Hodgson Cup

1 Hallfield 16

2 Yateley Manor 14.5

3 Twickenham Prep 13.5

U11 David Bull Cup

- 1. Hallfield 16
- 2. Yateley Manor 11.5
- 3. Twickenham Prep 10.5

Girls team cup - Tormead

Age group sections winners

U13 Barnaby Wreford (Highfield)

U11 Peter Crosby (Gt Walstead)

U10 James Clifford (Aldro)

U9 Justin Zhao (Twickenham Prep) and Timon Bergmann (New College)

U8 Milan Agrawal (Beacon), Risha Jithendra (Tormead), Joseph Vaughan

(Ravenscourt Park)

Section winners

Championship

1st= Andrew Kirby (Yateley Manor), Kanav Monga (Hallfield), Oliver

Manchester (Hurstpierpoint), Aaryan Agnihotri (Beacon)

Girls Champion - Raina Jithendra (Tormead)

A George Chowdhury (Leehurst Swan) and Peter Crosby (Gt Walstead)

B James Bonsall (Beacon)

C Liam M (Twickenham Prep)

D Kian OFarrell (New College)