28 Oct 2022


IAPS is delighted to again support the one of the oldest institutions in the prep school world

IAPS is delighted to announce that entries can now be submitted for the 2023 Townsend-Warner History Prize.

The prize, named after its founder George Townsend-Warner (pictured above) dates back to 1885 and is one of the oldest institutions in the prep school world, with longstanding connections to IAPS. The prize is of course open to all member schools.

Last year’s winner was Conrad Lai, of Shrewsbury House, whilst the Batsford Shield for the best overall school went to Westminster Under.

Stewardship of the prize has recently passed from Tony Beadles, who had been involved for more than half a century including setting and marking Paper Two for 40 years, to Gerard Silverlock, who retired from the headship of King’s College Junior School in Wimbledon in the summer of 2021.

Candidates must attend a school where the Head is a member of IAPS and be aged under 14 on 1 January 2023. Entries, which cost £5 per child, must be submitted on theofficial entry form no later than Thursday 17 December 2022.
The dates for the 2023 examination are Paper One on Friday 13 January and Paper Two on Monday 27 February.

IAPS is justifiably proud of its long association with the Townsend-Warner History Prize and hopes as many member schools as possible will submit entries in 2023. We wish Gerard Silverlock well in his new role and once again thank Tony Beadles for his many years of dedication and safe stewardship of the prize.

Return to listing